Posted in lists, meme posts

Explanation Post (Now With Added Meme)

Guess what, guys? I lost my internet access last Saturday. I did stuff all morning, came back, and promptly lost my internet. Turns out lightning and routers don’t mix.

So you’ll have to wait until next Saturday for my first post on comedy/humor in writing, aka The Post Where I Talk About How Much I Don’t Know. I promise, if I possibly can, I’ll make it happen.

For now, have another meme!

From The Book Date blog: “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a place to meet up and share what you have been, are and about to be reading over the week.” Yay, I get to talk about my reading log! I wish I had a picture of it, but I’m writing this in my campus library, so I have no access to the little Jack Skellington notebook that I’ve had and kept a book log in since October 2014. It’s adorable, I can assure you.


Books I Recently Finished

339472

The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov
read: Jan 22

I have a thing for Russian classics. I also have a (huge) thing for cats. This was a perfection combination.

I didn’t enjoy it quite as much as I expected – too many bland Russian officials with names I couldn’t keep straight because I’m an American, dagnabbit – but devilry is always entertaining, and once the story actually got to the Master and Margarita, it picked up a lot, and it ended on a great note.

10886703

Nicholas St. north and the Battle of the Nightmare King by William Joyce

read: Jan 20

It’s a reread because I finally got access to the third and fourth books in this series! Admittedly, I watched Rise of the Guardians before I started this series, so the much more child-oriented story is a little bit of an anticlimax; still, it’s enjoyable and lively, with a fun focus on invention and a sort of magical science. And, despite all of its kid-friendliness, Pitch is still pretty scary.

48800

The Third Man by Graham Greene
read: Jan 19

Greene’s explanation in the preface – that this is not a novella but a working-out of a story to become a script – somehow makes The Third Man work even better. His writing is incredibly cinematic, and you can just hear the noir voiceover in Calloway’s voice. I do think it would probably work better as a film – I haven’t watched it yet, but I plan to. Still, very entertaining.

 

Books I’m Reading

2921431

E. Aster Bunnymund and the Warrior Eggs at the Earth’s Core! by William Joyce

I mean… obviously. The third/fourth books are due this Saturday. It’s a good thing these books are easy to blaze through.

Bunnymund was always my favorite Guardian in the movie (even over Jack Frost and Sandy, yes). Obviously that Bunnymund has an Australian accent and a fun devilish personality, but this Bunnymund is a Pooka, and he can time-travel. Your move, Dreamworks.

 

Books To Read Next

26252859

The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

Yep, I am reading Rick Riordan’s latest. I’m not expecting much out of it, but maybe it’ll surprise me, despite featuring the god I kindly refer to as the most boring Olympian I can think of.

Then again, I’m still salty about not getting a Nico di Angelo spin-off. So the problem, I admit, is mostly with me.

9511061

Mandragola by Niccolo Machiavelli

Do I have any idea what it’s about? No. It’s in an anthology (Eight Great Comedies) I got at a library sale. So we’ll see how this goes.

 

 

 


That’s it for my Monday! What have you been reading lately? Any plans for this week?

Author:

Writing! Reading! Physical books and e-readers! Cats, giraffes, bats, okapis, and foxes! Tea in coffee mugs, coffee in teacups, lightsabers, and statues of St. Francis! These are the things that give me life. Piano is the sexiest instrument. "Joy is in our hearts." --Sara Groves "Savior, you have known me as I am." --Audrey Assad "Don't carry it all, don't carry it all." --The Decemberists

One thought on “Explanation Post (Now With Added Meme)

Leave a Reply

