Posted in lists

2017: Books Long Awaited

Well, most of these are not so long-awaited. I didn’t read most of the hits of 2016, so I’m not eagerly awaiting any sequels; I’m very excited for V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic trilogy-ender, A Conjuring Of Light, despite the fact that I haven’t read the second book yet, and I’m glad that the sequel to This Savage Song will be out this year, as well, even though I haven’t read This Savage Song. It’ll be a busy year of catching up with V.E. Schwab. I’d like to personally thank and bless the designers for her book covers. Splendid, all.

In any case, long-awaited or not, here are 17 books that look most interesting (most interesting indeed) to me in 2017. The categories:

  • Mythological/Fairytale – Existing
  • Mythological/Fairytale – Fictional
  • Modern Myth
  • Non-mythological

Existing Mythological/Fairytale Books:

308096891. Norse Mythology – Neil Gaiman

Does this even require explanation?

Confession: I have not read American Gods, nor have I read Anansi Boys. I did not even enjoy, that much, Neverwhere, Stardust, or Coraline. I have read and somewhat enjoyed Odd and the Frost Giants. Why am I even excited for this book if I’ve had such a lacking experience with Gaiman?

Because it’s frickin’ Neil Gaiman, dealing with straight-up Norse mythology, and after Joanne Harris’s treatments in both The Gospel of Loki and Runemarks, I’m ready for more, from an author who knows what they’re doing. Bring it on.

Release date: February 7

293446532. House of Names – Colm Toíbín

It’s a book about the effects that Iphigenia’s sacrifice/murder has on Iphigenia’s family. Why wouldn’t you want to read it?

Release date: May 18

 

 

306523341

3. The Crystal Ribbon – Celeste Lim

Chinese mythology. Enough said.

If it’s not actually enough, the Great Huli Jing mentioned in the book’s synopsis is a shapeshifting fox. I’m not sure if it’s a fox spirit or just a fox old enough to shapeshift – my Chinese mythology is incredibly rusty – but either way, foxes!

Foxes and Chinese mythology, and what sounds like an intriguing fairytale-like story – not to mention a beautiful cover – means this book is eagerly awaited.

Release date: January 31

301636614. Spindle Fire – Lexa Hillyer

A Sleeping Beauty tale with sisters, and some action for Sleeping Beauty herself – while she’s sleeping! I personally couldn’t be happier about the frequency of sisters in fairytales recently, and I’m excited to check this one out. The Goodreads synopsis includes phrases like “Aurora was tithed her sense of touch and her voice to the faeries.” Intriguing. (And that cover!)

Release date: April 11

Fictional Mythological/Fairytale Books:

299393035. Crossroads of Canopy – Thoraiya Dyer

This book’s synopsis contains two of my favorite things: gods with lifespans and tree-based civilizations. A mortal goes looking for a newborn god in their apparently massive forest home, coupled with slave rebellions and magic? Sign me up!

Release date: January 31

 

284492076. Strange the Dreamer – Laini Taylor

I have issues with Laini Taylor’s apparent priorities in her novels, and I’ll be the first to call this cover’s color scheme horrible, but the synopsis sounds pretty great. A “mythic lost city” called Weep, a blue-skinned dream goddess, “murdered gods” – I’m trying not to get my hopes up but this sounds perfect.

Release date: March 28

7. The Edge of Everything – Jeff Giles22296822 

The category placement could, potentially, be off, but the Goodreads synopsis claims that this book involves bounty hunters from “a hell called the Lowlands,” so I’m counting it on the basis of having a fictional version of an/multiple underworld(s).

Okay, so a bounty hunter from hell – called X, no less – in a romance with a mortal girl sounds… unimpressive. But hey, I’ll bite. It might just be worth the read.

Release date: January 31

300954648. The Bone Witch – Rin Chupeco

Do you know why I want to read this book? Here’s the first sentence – not even the first sentence, the first phrase – of the Goodreads synopsis:

“When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead…”

That’s why I want to read it.

Release date: March 7

Modern Myth:

9. The Gatlon School For Vigilantes – Marissa Meyer

This one’s further away, so that there’s no cover. I don’t know how to feel about the synopsis for this one – sounds a bit too much like Sky High for my taste. But Marissa Meyer didn’t disappoint with the Lunar Chronicles, and I hope she’ll have the same effect on the superhero genre. (It’s not like Sky High was any crowning achievement, anyway.)

Release date: November 7

3011421210. See What I Have Done – Sarah Schmidt

This one goes under “Modern Myth” in that its subject is Lizzie Borden. I haven’t read the Borden Dispatches yet, but this one looks like a less fantasy-horror look at the enduring American horror story.  It looks like the only book on my list that has no speculative elements at all, actually; it seems to be straight historical fiction. I’m excited.

Release date: May 2

2600653711. The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter – Theodora Goss

The daughters of Jekyll and Hyde (how does that work?). Holmes and Watson. Justine Frankenstein, Rappaccini’s Daughter, and Catherine Moreau. These women and detectives teaming up to beat a society of crazy alchemists.

Gimmicky? Sounds like. Appealing? Absolutely!

Release date: June 20

Non-Mythological Books:

12. 27 Hours – Tristina Wright

Another one without a cover, due to its late publication date. This one has a cast of four teenagers on a colonized moon called Sahara, the people locked in a battle with creatures called alternatively gargoyles or chimaeras. It sounds complicated, while at the same time very character-focused. Just my kind of sci-fi.

Release date: October 3

2502640313. Starfall – Melissa Landers

Starflight was a decently good romp, nothing incredible but with enough entertainment value to be memorable. Starfall sounds like it’ll be a huge improvement, focusing on the two most compelling characters of the first book, Cassia and Kane.

This is the first of my 2017-published trilogy of books about a female royal taking back her throne. I want to read these and see how the stories stack up.

Release date: February 7

30269126

14. Empress of a Thousand Skies – Rhoda Belleza

It sounds potentially derivative, but, as is obvious at this point, I’m a sucker for this type of story. And hey, it’s sci-fi, which probably means there will be banter on spaceships. It’s not at the top of my list but it could be some middlingly good entertainment.

Release date: February 7

 

3032005315. Long May She Reign – Rhiannon Thomas 

What did I say about royal girls and murdered royal families? It’s not in space, but it does involve illegitimate children and a laboratory nerd-turned-queen, so I’ll cross my fingers for this one, too.

Release date: February 21

 

2993926816. Universal Harvester – John Darnielle

LOOK AT THAT TRIPPY COVER.

The idea of someone inserting their own creepy footage into VHS tapes, for some reason, sends chills down my spine. I’ve read maybe two books in my life that genuinely disturbed me. I hope this one joins the ranks.

Release date: February 7

17. How To Stop Time – Matt Haig

This one is English, I believe. I can’t find a solid publication date for it besides “July.” In any case, it’s the story of a man who ages so slowly that he’s lived through four centuries even though he only looks 40; he’s a history teacher. If you’ve been on Tumblr for two minutes or even looked over Pinterest story-inspiration boards, you’ve probably seen something like this, and I’m thrilled to see that something like it is actually getting published. It sounds like a keeper.

Release date: July


That’s it for my 2017 to-read list! Towards the end of the year, I’ll check back in to see how many I got to read.

Any 2017-published recs for me? Comment and share some titles! I love recommendations, always.

Author:

Writing! Reading! Physical books and e-readers! Cats, giraffes, bats, okapis, and foxes! Tea in coffee mugs, coffee in teacups, lightsabers, and statues of St. Francis! These are the things that give me life. Piano is the sexiest instrument. "Joy is in our hearts." --Sara Groves "Savior, you have known me as I am." --Audrey Assad "Don't carry it all, don't carry it all." --The Decemberists

Leave a Reply

